Second Holiest!

So I was really nervous and contemplating my dish all day, “Is it too one-note?”, “Do people know about parsnips?”, “Will all the DC foodies come and judge me?”, and it turned out that all my negative thoughts were ‘gunisht’ as my Mama would say. Out of the 16 chefs, all of whom created fabulous potato dishes, I placed second! I won my first ever full-body apron and also a gift certificate for a strange place called Potato Valley. How fitting.

Anyways, below is the recipe I used, tweaked a bit from its original form.

3 yukon potatoes, peeled and chopped
6 parsnips, peeled and chopped
2 small onions, chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves

6 oz. unsalted butter, preferably organic
1 qt.minus 1/2 cup vegetable stock
1 1/2 cups apple cider
1/3 cup heavy cream

1/2 tsp Oregano

Salt and Pepper to taste

Leave a comment